Recipe // Homemade Chicken Fried Rice

A cinch to cook quickly, with (almost) whatever vegetables are on hand and I (almost) always have the ingredients on hand. Especially when the previously planned meal doesn’t quite make it to cooked stage, because of poor planning. I checked that I had the ingredients for Orange Chicken, but when I started to make the dish I found I was a cup short of the cornstarch. >_<

Homemade Chicken Fried Rice

I had the chicken cut, I had promised dinner in less than an hour, I had my mini panic attack and I remembered the Chicken Fried Rice recipe (from LaaLoosh) I tried awhile back. The recipe was designed to be calorie smart, but I was drawn to the recipe because of the simplicity. The tweaks I made, likely annihilated the calorie design of the recipe. But I am more interested (at the moment) in making dinners that fussy toddlers and a picky preteen will eat with minimum headache.

Chicken Fried Rice
Prep time: 10 min, more if you have toddlers :S     Cook time: 1 hr     Servings: 4

1 or 2 small boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into small pieces
2 cups cooked white rice, kept hot*
3 large eggs
1/2 an onion, finely chopped
2 medium garlic cloves, minced
2 cups of some sort of frozen vegetables, thawed**
1/4 cup soy sauce
Vegetable oil, for frying

Coat a large nonstick skillet with cooking spray and set pan over medium-high heat. Add eggs and cook, until scrambled, stirring frequently, about 3 to 5 minutes; remove from pan and set aside.

Add 2 teaspoons of vegetable oil into pan and place back over medium-high heat. Add chicken; saute until chicken is golden brown and cooked through, about 5 minutes. Remove from pan and set aside.

Add a teaspoon of vegetable oil into pan and place back over medium-high heat. Add onions and garlic; sauté 30 seconds. Add the vegetables and stir fry until vegetables are done to desired tenderness.
Stir in reserved cooked eggs, cooked chicken, cooked rice, and soy sauce; cook until heated through, stirring once or twice, about 1 minute.

Notes
* I like to make an extra big pot of rice and use what I need for supper and save the rest. Extra rice makes a good lunch the next day. Just steam some veggies and voila… you have lunch ;)
** Original recipe calls for carrots and green peas. I have tried the winter vegetable mix, but my favourite vegetables to use are the stir-fry mixes.

And that’s how I made it. :D I can’t really review the original recipe, because of all the changes I made off the bat. But we did try with the egg whites and that didn’t go over very well.

Leave a Reply

