Easy, Half an Hour Gummy Candies

Easy Half an Hour Candy

When I saw the Homemade Jello Fruit Snacks recipe on the  Six Sisters’ Stuff blog, I knew this was something I had to try. Three ingredients and you can eat them in about half an hour after starting! This is something my 11 year-old can make!  Apparently, when you put preschool themed snacks in your preteens lunch, that is just not cool (believe me, I know… dealing with a grouchy kid after school is NOT fun!). So this way he gets the candy he wants so bad in his lunch and they aren’t shaped like little girls and backpacks!

Easy Half an Hour Candy

See… way cool Han Solo candy! Star Wars is actually cool right now. Not like when I was eleven.

Easy Half an Hour Candy

Just a few ingredients to make some epicness!

Easy Half an Hour Candy

I used my silicon Han Solo frozen in carbonite molds. And for the extra mixture I used my silicon star cupcake molds. I found the Kotobukiya Han Solo in Carbonite Silicon Ice Cube Tray at Memory Express in Edmonton. They also have R2-D2 (Poe wanted R2-D2 so bad, but dad over ruled him and we ended up with Han) and some others.

Easy Half an Hour Candy

Here they are after they set. The tops (or is it the bottoms?) are bubbly in appearance, perhaps from my over zealous mixing? The molded area had no hint of the bubbles, so all’s good. They came out of the molds very easily.

Easy Half an Hour Candy

When I removed the candies from the mold they were a bit tacky. But from previous baking experiences (and the friendly reminder in the comments), I knew corn starch would help with that. A light dusting of corn starch, excess removed with a pastry brush, will help prevent the candies from sticking to each other and the container when stored. My husband suggested confectioners sugar, which I will try next time. I’ve also read that a combination of powdered sugar and corn starch might help or that the candies may lose some stickiness if they are left to sit for awhile.

The star molds turned out really well, but alas no photos of the finished stars. They were the sacrificed immediately to gauge the tastiness. :) And the general consensuses was “You have to make these again, mom!” I agree wholeheartedly, but next time I will go with a non-name brand of flavoured gelatin for the cost conscience wallet of mine. I mean, if I’m making something like this, I want the cost to be less than what I could buy the name brand fruit snacks for.

Easy Half an Hour Candy

And my little guy had to get in on the photo action. Here’s his serious face ^

Easy Half an Hour Candy

And here’s his silly face ^ I was going to store them for a couple days to see how they kept (they are supposed to keep well and don’t need refrigeration), but within an hour they had been gobbled down by my family.

Easy Half an Hour Candy

And the childish, nerdish me, found a few Star Wars toys and snapped some Hutt castle photos. ohohohoho

If you’d like to try your hand at making gummy candies, head on over to Six Sisters’ Stuff for the recipe! – Homemade Jello Fruit Snacks Recipe

Some other recipe links you might be interested in:
Gelatin Pinwheels or Fruity Roll-Ups from Joy of Jello – Made with gelatin & marshmallows!

Homemade Gummy Candies
from Adventures of a Thrifty Mama on a Trailer Park Homestead – This one has more ingredients and more steps… but no artificial colour (depending on the juice you choose to use of course) or corn syrup, so it may be more healthy? And if you scroll to the comments in the link, you will find a tip to use veggie juice!

How to Make Gummy Worms: An All Natural Recipe from leahlefler – With video. I haven’t watched the video, but the article had three different recipes to try: All Natural Fruit Juice Gummy Candy, Root Beer Gummy Worm and Jello Gummy Worms. There are also tips on making worms with straws.

Homemade Gummy Fruit Snacks from All Day I Dream About Food – Fresh berries and apple sauce FTW!

Turkish Delight from Plaid Paisley & Polka Dots – This recipe is for you if you’re looking for a more in-depth candy-making experience and ever wondered what those “Turkish Delights” that you read about in The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (by C. S. Lewis) tasted like. For some reason I always thought they were chocolates. :P I will skip this recipe for now, but maybe I can convince my sister to make them (so I can eat them and not have to make a mess of my kitchen or buy a candy thermometer)!

Fruit Rollups from The Copycat Cook – I want to try make fruit leather sooo bad and I’m going to use this recipe when I attempt it. Lot’s of great suggestions in the comment section.

Homemade Fruit Leather from Georgia Pellegrini.com – Lots of photos of the process.

Thanks for stopping by. – Taryn

Leave a Reply

